San Francisco's St. Cecilia Parish – A History
Originally housed in a two-story home and then in an old converted schoolhouse along Taraval Street in 1917, San Francisco’s St. Cecilia Church today stands as a cultural pillar and architectural gem of the Parkside District. The parish continually grew to meet the demands of its members, despite the hardships brought on by events like the Great Depression and both world wars. Through years of expansions, new construction and additions, the parish remains an active gathering place for thousands of people. Local author Frank Dunnigan utilizes community remembrances and photos from dozens of different sources to tell the story of a vibrant parish that continues to live up to its motto: “The Finest, the Greatest and the Best.”
About Frank Dunnigan (San Francisco, California Author)
Frank Dunnigan was born at St. Mary's Hospital in San Francisco and baptized in the old St. Cecilia Church on 17th Avenue in January 1952. He graduated from St. Cecilia School (class of 1966), from St. Ignatius College Prep (class of 1970) and then from the University of San Francisco. After a career in both banking and retail, he is a recent retiree after nearly twenty years of service with the federal government and is living in suburban Phoenix, Arizona. He is the author of Growing Up in San Francisco's Western Neighborhoods: Boomer Memories from Kezar Stadium to Zim's Hamburgers (2014) and Growing Up in San Francisco: More Boomer Memories From Playland to Candlestick Park (2016), both published by The History Press. Since January 2009, he has written "Streetwise," a monthly column on local history, published by Western Neighborhoods Project (outsidelands.org). He has also contributed text and photo content to the published works of other local historians.