Midnight on the Mississippi – Secrets of the South Mysteries, book 1

Midnight on the Mississippi
350 Pages
ISBN 978-0-7369-6169-1

What lies beneath the black water of the bayou? Hunter Galen, a New Orleans securities broker, suspects his business partner, James Nowak, of embezzling their clients’ money, but he’s reluctant to jeopardize their friendship. After James turns up dead, Hunter realizes his unwillingness to confront a problem may have cost James his life. Nicki Price, a newly minted PI, intends to solve the stockbroker’s murder as she establishes herself in the career she adores.

As Nicki ferrets out fraud and deception at Galen-Nowak Investments, Hunter’s fiancée, Ashley Menard, rubs her the wrong way. Nicki doesn’t trust the ostentatious woman who seems to be hiding something, but is the PI’s growing attraction to Hunter—the police’s only suspect—her true reason for disliking Ashley? As Hunter and Nicki encounter sophisticated shell games, blackmail, and death threats both subtle and overt, danger swirls around them like the mysterious dark water of the bayou.

Here’s what Romantic Times BookReviews said about Midnight on the Mississippi: “This kicks off a new series with quirky but lovable characters who are determined to make the world a better place, one complex crime case at a time. The storyline has many interesting layers for readers to discover, with twists and unexpected turns throughout. Ellis is a multi-talented author who has proven she can write an outstanding suspenseful book while keeping true to her faith and values.” Four and a half-stars.”

Mary Ellis

About Mary Ellis (Cleveland, Ohio Author)

Mary Ellis

Mary Ellis has written twenty-five novels including Amish fiction, historical romance, and suspense. First in the series, Midnight on the Mississippi, was a finalist for the RT Magazine’s Reviewer’s Choice Award and a finalist for the Daphne du Maurier Award for 2015. Second in the series, What Happened on Beale Street, won the Judge a Book by its Cover contest for Inspirational Romance. Her most recent, Sunset in Old Savannah has been nominated for a Bookseller’s Best Award and the Daphne du Maurier Award for 2017. In August, Severn House will release Hiding in Plain Sight book one of Marked for Retribution Mysteries. In January Kensington will release her mystery novella, Nothing Tastes So Sweet, for the Amish Candy Shop Anthology. www.maryellis.net or www.facebook.com/Mary.Ellis.Author